Wednesday Trivia Question

What current Oscar nominee aired on PBS?

As you may know, the nominations for the 96th Academy Awards were announced yesterday. I’m a cinephile as well as a lover of television, so I was anxiously waiting to see what films would be up for the golden statuette. And I always keep an eye out for PBS links. No big connections in the acting categories, aside from the wonderful Carey Mulligan who has appeared in a DOCTOR WHO episode (the now classic “Blink”), a MARPLE and a few MASTERPIECE presentations (“Northanger Abbey” and “The Amazing Mrs. Pritchard” and “Bleak House”). But I did notice a familiar name among the nominees as one of the films has already aired on PBS.

Of course, it aired under the banner of a regular series and was featured last fall as a single episode of that long-running program. I don’t want to give too much away. If you’re a regular viewer, you may have watched it or seen it promoted on our airwaves. Even if you missed it, you’ll likely be able to narrow it down given the criteria. Regardless, this is a big honor for public television and I know which nominee I’m pulling for in that particular category.

So what film is it? What current Academy Award nominee has already aired on PBS?

Continue reading