Good Work, Mr. Peabody!

Earlier this month, winners of the 78th Annual Peabody Awards were announced. Unsurprisingly, PBS programs were winners in several categories. The Peabody Awards honor the most compelling and empowering stories released in broadcasting and digital media. Congratulations to all the deserving Peabody recipients!

Here are the PBS Peabody winners…


Documentary Winners

AMERICAN MASTERS “Lorraine Hansberry: Sighted Eyes/Feeling Heart”  (Co-produced by ITVS)

FRONTLINE “The Facebook Dilemma”


INDEPENDENT LENS “The Judge” (Co-produced by ITVS)


POV “Minding the Gap” (Co-produced by ITVS)

POV “The Apology”


News Winners

FRONTLINE “Separated: Children at the Border”

PBS NewsHour “The Plastic Problem”


Radio/Podcast Finalist

PBS NewsHour “Kept Out”


PBS Kids Win Again

If you’ve never heard of the Kidscreen Awards, you’re probably not alone. However, it shouldn’t surprise you to learn that PBS received three of them. The Kidscreen Awards, which celebrate the year’s best in children’s media, were handed out February 12 during the Kidscreen Summit in Miami.

PBS was awarded Channel of the Year, Best Website (Preschool) and Best Game App (for PBS KIDS Games). This is the fifth time PBS KIDS has been named Channel of the Year since the award’s inception in 2011.

Additionally, PBS KIDS producers took home three awards:

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Fred Rogers Productions, Sinking Ship Entertainment

Best in Class
Fred Rogers Productions, Sinking Ship Entertainment

Best Website,Kids
PBS KIDS, Fred Rogers Productions, Sinking Ship Entertainment

Congratulations to all the PBS KIDS recipients on their well-deserved 2019 Kidscreen Awards.

Yay, Us!

UNC-TV won six regional Emmys at the 33rd Midsouth Emmy Awards held February 16 in Nashville. Congratulations to all of the talented people who worked on these programs and who help make UNC-TV shine on a daily basis.

Here is a list of the UNC-TV winners…


Edwin Gil/Upcycled Glass, UNC-TV, Jonathan Steve Duran Arriola


MUSE 126, UNC-TV, Katy M. Loebrich, Jonathan Steve Duran Arriola, Morgan Potts


Hobey Ford: Puppeteer, UNCTV, Morgan Potts


My Home, North Carolina, UNC-TV, Heather Burgiss, Miriam McSpadden, Jonathan Steve Duran Arriola, Nathan Shepherd, Amy Meiggs, Galen Black


Middle School Science Animations, UNC-TV, Galen Black, Paula Edelson, Melissa Salpietra


A Little Weather, UNC-TV, Morgan Potts

Who Do You Trust?

The following is from a PBS Press Release, dated February 2nd of this year. I could easily paraphrase but why bother when this lays it out so nicely.

For the 16th consecutive year, PBS and its member stations have been named #1 in public trust among American institutions in a nationwide annual survey. According to the findings released today, Americans rank PBS as more trustworthy than institutions such as courts of law, the federal government and Congress, as well as media sources such as digital platforms, commercial broadcast and cable television, newspapers and social media. Respondents also said that PBS was their most trusted source of news and public affairs programming. Continue reading

Up Front

I received this email from the folks at FRONTLINE and wanted to pass it along in full. (You can sign up to receive messages like this from PBS’ premier documentary series at the FRONTLINE website.) The program has won numerous Emmy and Peabody Awards and continues to be a model for investigative journalism but this new accolade just seems particularly noteworthy.

Dear FRONTLINE Community,

I’m writing to share some good news with you. 

Today, the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards announced that FRONTLINE has received its highest honor, the Gold Baton — an award that hasn’t been given in a decade. In a recognition of our work across multiple platforms, the duPonts’ citation praised us for a year of varied reporting and for being a “a standard-bearer and innovator.” Continue reading

And The Winner Is…

Once again, PBS receives a few accolades of note as PBS programs were honored with seven News & Documentary Emmy® Awards, more than any other organization. The 39th Annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards were presented on October 1 at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City.

PBS President and CEO Paula Kerger said, “Audiences are hungry for high-quality programs that bring light to the pressing issues of our day. PBS continues to be a trusted beacon of education and inspiration for all Americans.”

The PBS’ News & Documentary Emmy® Award winners are:

Outstanding Science and Technology Documentary

FRONTLINE “Abacus: Small Enough to Jail”
Outstanding Business and Economic Documentary Continue reading

It’s An Honor To Be Nominated

Once again, PBS rakes in a slew of award nominations. This time, it’s the 39th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards where the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences honored the Public Broadcasting Service with 44 nominations, the most earned by any organization. In addition, NATAS is recognizing Paula S. Apsell, Senior Executive Director of NOVA, for her many years of science broadcasting excellence with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here’s the full list of PBS nominations:



Outstanding Science and Technology Documentary

Outstanding Lighting Direction and Scenic Design


FRONTLINE “Abacus: Small Enough to Jail”

Outstanding Business and Economic Documentary Continue reading