Flashback: 18 January 1984

Were you watching our airwaves 40 years ago? If so, here’s what you would have seen…

January 18 was a Wednesday four decades back. At 7:30, we aired something called DE BONO’S THINKING COURSE. I have zero recollection of this series but from a quick online search I discover that Dr. Edward de Bono was a Rhodes Scholar who promoted thinking as a skill. He has published some books on the subject and I suspect the program apparently featured his lectures.

SMITHSONIAN WORLD, hosted by David McCullough, was at 8pm. A special on graffiti titled STYLE WARS was at 9pm, followed by a documentary on filmmaker Stanley Kramer with Jane Fonda as host. The evening ended with the British imports DOCTOR WHO and MONTY PYTHON’S FLYING CIRCUS, so I suspect I know where I was from 11-midnight on that particular date.