Hey, It’s Photo Friday!

Read-A-Roo has been the mascot of our children’s programming since the 1990s. I don’t think it pre-dates the Just For Kids brand we launched in the mid-90s. Now, of course, Read-A-Roo is the face of our 24/7 kids channel brand Rootle. This leads some to call the kangaroo “Rootle” but that would technically be incorrect (although I’ve theorized that the mascot’s full name could be Read-A-Rootle). You may have seen Read-A-Roo in on-air spots and social media posts and in person at community events. But what you may not have seen is this Read-A-Roo backpack. At least I think it’s a backpack. There are straps and a zippered pouch to carry things in. [Side note: am I the only one disappointed the roo has its pouch in the back?] I have no idea if these were ever sold or given out. They may have been produced for staff only. Still, cool get.