Hey, It’s Photo Friday!

A colleague and I were remarking the other day how virtually no record exists of the early programming WUNC Channel 4 aired. The records in our programming database go back about 25 years but I can’t be certain they are 100% complete (the software we use was acquired in the aughts and the migration of data could have easily lost something). Our CENTERPIECE monthly program guide is a decent record of what we’ve broadcast over the years but those only go back about four decades. Those early years, however, are very murky, especially in the time before PBS was commissioned. So when I see a photo like this I’m really at a loss. When was it taken? What’s the name of the program here? Who are the people pictured? Sadly, I have no idea. The gentleman with the harp seems to be talent, as might be the man seated. The person on the right in the suit in tie could easily be the show’s director, discussing the recording with the musicians. To assume it was recorded and not broadcast live is even a stretch. Regardless of how little I know, I’m glad I’m able to at the very least share this picture to shed light on a forgotten corner of UNC-TV’s past.