Wednesday Trivia Question

Who hosted the INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF ANIMATION?

Wow. This question goes back over 40 years so even the most ardent of PBS viewer may have no frame of reference. But I find it interesting because I do remember the program (barely) although I couldn’t remember the title until I discovered a reference to it on the web.

So to set the scene, the INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF ANIMATION was a series of half hour shows featuring short animated films. It may have been a presentation of award-winning shorts from around the world, I can’t say for certain. Even the mentions online are sparse in details. But the show ran in the mid to late 1970s (I’ve found different dates online) and showcased animation in various forms. It appears as though 13 episodes were broadcast.

The host is an actress with ties to PBS. I don’t know if this is why she was chosen for hosting duties but it’s a hint to perhaps help clue you in on the identity. The actress won an Emmy Award around the time INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL OF ANIMATION aired so she certainly lent the series a bit of gravitas.

Continue reading