My Top Five: Sesame Street Songs

SESAME STREET has a long history of music. From that very first episode in 1969, it was obvious that songs and singing were part of the very lifeblood of SESAME STREET. When I pondered the question of what my favorites were it was difficult to narrow it down. I could go with parody songs, Sesame originals or tunes that were covered by the colorful cast of Muppets and humans alike. I could probably create a list composed merely of songs written by the late, great Joe Raposo. But I eventually came up with five songs that, to me, represent the wonder and enormity of SESAME STREET’s pop culture influence.

So here they are… MY TOP FIVE SESAME STREET SONGS…

5) C IS FOR COOKIE. Ah, how wonderful Sid aka Cookie Monster is. His insatiable appetite (even for healthy foods – a song which nearly made the list) is legendary. Written by the aforementioned Joe Raposo, this ode to his favorite food is a classic. And that’s good enough for me.

Continue reading