Song of the Summer!

If, like me, you stopped listening to popular music in the late 1980s, you may have very little knowledge of the current pop charts. However, you have to live under an actual rock to be unaware of the 2017 Song of the Summer – a song that may well be the song of the decade!

Despacito by Luis Fonsi, featuring Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber, has been atop the US Billboard Hot 100 since May (in addition to hitting number one in 45 countries) and is the first single primarily in Spanish to top the charts since 1996 (remember the Macarena?). The music video has been the first to reach over three billion views on YouTube and has become the world’s most streamed song ever.

American Experience continues its online look at the Songs of the Summer with a take of this pop powerhouse crossover hit. Find out all you ever needed to know about Despacito.

Hey, It’s Photo Friday!

I was rummaging through our storage bay recently when I spotted these two signs marked for surplus. (Surplus, as I understand it, is another larger off-site storage where the stuff we haven’t been using here at the station gets categorized as “probably never gonna re-use ever again.”) The signs were created, I’d guess, as part of a program or series we recorded some time back but I’ve no idea where or when. There is a Tarheel Educators (plural) listed in our programming database but it has not been broadcast within the last few decades and I don’t recall it personally. The circus sign is more mysterious – possibly a children’s program from long before my tenure here at UNC-TV? I can’t say for certain. But these little signs sure have piqued my interest.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA