My Top Five: Britcoms

Does the internet really need another list? Debatable. But I’ve been looking for something new to add into the mix here at VIEWERS LIKE and this seemed like something fun.

Every now and then I’ll post MY TOP FIVE in various categories relating to UNC-TV programming. Understand: I’m not saying these are the best of anything. I’m not even saying it’s my top five overall (just limiting it to UNC-TV fare, past and present) but simply my favorite handful in a particular area. Feel free to agree or disagree – lists of this nature should never be taken as definitive, rather as a starting point for a healthy (and civil) discussion.

As always, let me know what you think. Did I omit one of your favorites? Email me at sparkymac@unctv.org and tell me.

Now, here’s MY TOP FIVE BRITCOMS.

5. Mr. Bean – Rowan Atkinson at his Chaplinesque best.

4. Red Dwarf – The sci fi adventures of Lister, Rimmer, Cat and Kryten never fail to amuse me.

3. Is It Legal? – A fantastic workplace comedy about a small Hounslow law firm with quirky characters you alternatively want to work with and slap.

2. One Foot In The Grave – Victor Meldrew may seem like a curmudgeon but true fans know that he’s simply a man who cares too much living in a world where others don’t.

1. Fawlty Towers – The ultimate farce. John Cleese, Prunella Scales, Connie Booth and Andrew Sachs are near-perfection in what can arguably be labeled the best situation comedy of all time on either side of the pond.

As I say, this is MY Top Five (no one else’s), taking into consideration just the shows we’ve aired on UNC-TV. Also, I go with the definition of Britcom as “British Situation Comedy” which means Monty Python’s Flying Circus, a sketch comedy show, doesn’t fit the bill (and having to choose between Fawlty and Python might have made my head explode anyway).

