Award Shows

The 31st Annual Midsouth Regional Emmy Awards were announced at a ceremony in Nashville, TN on January 21 and three UNC-TV projects were honored with awards. Here’s a list of the winners…


Seasonal Science, UNC-TV, David Huppert, Melissa Salpietra


Our State 801, UNC-TV, Morgan Potts, David Hardy, Heather Dollar, Mike Burke, Amy Meiggs, Karen Pearce, Mike Milstead


PBS Kids Writers Winner’s Circle, UNC-TV, Heather Dollar, Len Faulconer, Tisha Howard, Nancy Rich

Congratulations to everyone involved with these projects!

Where Do I Know That Actor?

There were a few familiar faces guest starring on British imports airing over the weekend on a couple of the services of UNC-TV. Let’s have a quick look at who’s who.

I thought I’d start with the most recent of DCI Banks (“Bad Boy”). In Saturday night’s episode, Philip Jackson played Al Jenkins. Jackson has appeared in guest roles on shows like Robin Hood, Touching Evil and Midsomer Murders since the 1970s but it’s safe to say he’s most well known for playing Inspector Japp in Agatha Christie’s Poirot. Also, the role of Jaff Kitson was played by Ray Panthaki. Certainly, Panthaki is neither a household name nor  immediately recognizable as an actor who’s shown up in loads of shows. However, EastEnders fans may recall him as former Albert Square resident Ronny Ferreira. Continue reading