Wednesday Trivia Question

The Durrells In Corfu is the second time Gerald Durrell’s books about his family’s time on the Ionian Sea island has been adapted for Masterpiece. What was the title of the first adaptation that aired on Masterpiece Theatre in 2006?

Like I said earlier, I can’t seem to get away from the Durrells. When I first saw promos for the series, I knew the premise seemed familiar and how right I was. Simon Nye, writer of the current six-part series, also wrote a 2005 television movie based on the same source material – Gerrald Durrell’s autobiographical books. This film was broadcast by PBS as part of the Masterpiece Theatre series in April of 2006 and featured Imelda Staunton, Matthew Goode and Russell Tovey, among others.

However, this one-off Masterpiece presentation was not called “The Durrells In Corfu” (or even just “The Durrells” – the original ITV name). But what was the title? It was called “My Family and Other Animals” – which is the title of the first and most well-known of Gerrald Durrell’s Corfu trilogy.

