Where Do I Know That Actor?

I just can’t seem to get away from The Durrells In Corfu. This week’s episode featured a visit by a passel of relatives from England led by the domineering Aunt Hermione. Hermione was played by Barbara Flynn, an actor I immediately recognized from a show we broadcast thirty years ago. Some quick research shows she’s been in a few series UNC-TV has aired over the years.

Barbara Flynn played Jill Swinburne in The Beiderbecke Affair – that’s the series I knew her from – back in the mid-80s. She was also seen in the Geoffrey Palmer comedy The Last Song as Shirley and as Madame Maigret opposite Michael Gambon in Mystery‘s Maigret series. Plus, there were several Masterpiece series where you may have seen her – she was Miss Browning in Wives and Daughters, Emily in The Forsyte Saga, Mrs. French in He Knew He Was Right and Mrs. Jamieson in Cranford. Along the way, she’s popped up in guest appearances on everything from Poirot to Inspector Lynley. And I’m sure there are some other roles I’m missing but that’s a pretty healthy resume for public television viewers.

Got a face you can’t place from one of the plethora of programs UNC-TV airs from the UK? Email me at sparkymac@unctv.org and I’ll try to help out.

