Where Do I Know That Actor?

On UNC-EX, UNC-TV’s Explorer Channel, Friday nights is now a night for British drama. (Well, British and Australian drama – but we all know how Down Under got its start as a nation.) A few faces of note on this week’s programs. See if you spotted them.

On Doc Martin (the very first episode, by the way), Celia Imrie guest starred as Susan Brading. Imrie seems to be a regular face on UNC-TV and I’ve mentioned her before because she pops up all over the place. She may be best known as Gloria on Kingdom or Diana on After You’ve Gone. She was also Anna Gromyko on Masterpiece Theatre‘s Doctor Zhivago and had a stint on Bergerac in 1983 as Marianne.

On Father Brown, the good padre investigates “The Curse of Amenhotep” in which David Bamber played Walter Hubble. Now, Bamber is by no means a household name but he’s got a distinctive look and I always see him and know I’ve seen him before, even if I cannot recall exactly where. He’s done guest stints on Doctor Who, Midsomer Murders, Death In Paradise, Doc Martin, Brass and – I could go on but I think I’ve proved the point that he’s been in loads of series. He was recently seen as Shallow in The Hollow Crown (“Henry IV, Part 2”) on Great Performances. Also, he had several roles on Masterpiece outings – Collision (Sidney Norris), Daniel Deronda (Lush), The Merchant Of Venice (Antonio) and The Railway Children (Doctor Forrest).

Nicholas Farrell was Sir Raleigh Beresford in the Father Brown episode. Farrell, too, has been on a slew of Masterpiece series. He was Guy Pearson in the aforementioned Collision, Albert Dussel in The Diary Of Anne Frank, Mr. Musgrove in Persuasion, Jeremy Crawford in The Jury, Leo Beckford in The Choir, David Mycroft in To Play The King and Teddy Bingham in The Jewel In The Crown.

Got a face you can’t place from one of the plethora of programs UNC-TV airs from the UK? Email me at sparkymac@unctv.org and I’ll try to help out.

