Where Do I Know That Actor?

If I sometimes seem a bit haphazard in which actors I pick for “Where Do I Know That Actor?” please understand that as much as I watch UNC-TV (often for work, often for pleasure) I do not watch everything UNC-TV airs. I’d love to but there are not enough hours in a day to enjoy our four channels that broadcast 24/7.

So forgive me if I’m a bit late to Mr. Selfridge. I’ve been a Jeremy Piven fan for years but somehow this Masterpiece jewel escaped me. I know the series is ending in just a few weeks so I thought I’d cast a quick eye at a couple of notable faces from this last season.

Let’s start with the man who plays Mr. Grove. Tom Goodman-Hill has guested on Foyle’s War, Inspector Lewis, Doctor Who, Call The Midwife, Midsomer Murders and more. However, he may be most recognizable as Philip Quil, Judith’s partner and Marcus’s headteacher, on the Britcom Spy (first season only).

Samuel West is Frank Edwards. He’s shown up on Inspector Lynley, Midsomer Murders, As Time Goes By and even NOVA (he played Humphry Davy on Einstein’s Big Idea). However, UNC-TV fans may know him as Peter Scabius (Older) on Any Human Heart, a Masterpiece Classic, or – and this is going waaaaaay back – Prince Caspian on a late 1980s adaptation of C.S. Lewis’ Prince Caspian and the Voyage of the Dawn Treader, which aired on WonderWorks.

Oliver Dimmsdale, who plays Mr. Keen, has been seen here and there, in shows like Lark Rise To Candleford and Downton Abbey (he played the Prince of Wales in an episode during series four). He was also Lewis Trevelyan in He Knew He Was Right on Masterpiece Theatre. Yet you wouldn’t have to been a keen viewer to recognize him from the program that aired immediately preceding Mr. Selfridge, as Dimmsdale played Daniel Marlowe on the second season of Grantchester.

The final face of note (trust me, I could probably do a write up on every actor in the series) is Amanda Abbington, who portrays Miss Mardle. Guest roles on Doc Martin and Poirot aside, Abbington should be familiar if you’ve seen the comedy series After You’ve Gone where she played Jimmy’s girlfriend Siobhan. But I think it’s safe to safe to most Masterpiece fans, Amanda Abbington is Mary Watson (née Morstan) on Sherlock. Abbington is also the longtime partner of actor Martin Freeman who plays Watson on Sherlock.

The final season of Mr. Selfridge continues Sunday night at a new time – 10:30, following the final season of Wallander. Wow, that a lot of final seasons. Don’t worry – we’ll still have plenty of shows for you to enjoy and get hooked on,yet still far too many for me to watch them all.

Got a face you can’t place from one of the plethora of programs UNC-TV airs from the UK? Email me at sparkymac@unctv.org and I’ll try to help out.

