Where Do I Know That Actor?

I love it when I’m watching one of the British import series UNC-TV airs and spot a familiar face from another series. It usually bothers me to the point I have to pause the show and look it up online. The situation is often exacerbated by the incredible number of guest stars some shows have (particularly mystery-of-the-week series) and the fact that we can air shows filmed last year on the same night we broadcast a favorite from the 1970s.

If you’ve got that nagging feeling, I’ll try to help you out.

Watch the latest Midsomer Murders – a two-part mystery called Destroying Angel? The whodunnit was originally presented in England in 2001, and observant viewers may have noticed a familiar face.

Samantha Bond played (barely a spoiler) an unfaithful spouse whose husband met an untimely death. No doubt she may be well known for playing Moneypenny opposite Pierce Brosnan’s Bond on the big screen but public television viewers best know her as Lady Rosamund Painswick from Downton Abbey. She also starred as the wife of Peter Davison’s irascible doctor on Distant Shores and as Auntie Angela on the sitcom Outnumbered. [Note: the second episode of that two-part Midsomer Murders airs again Wednesday at 4pm on UNC-TV and Thursday at 8pm on UNC-MX.]

Got a face you can’t place from one of the plethora of programs UNC-TV airs from the UK? Email me at sparkymac@unctv.org and I’ll try to help out.

